Things I never understood before...

 Hey All, 


My FS12, MR. R, has been here 2.5 weeks now, and my mind is just blown away not only by the support of my friends and family, but by how much my life has changed. 

I knew starting this journey that things would not always be easy, but the amount I've learned about being an "adult" and "parent" in the last three weeks has just blown my mind. 


Things I never understood until now...

1) How parents mix up their kids names...FS9, Mr. T, has been gone a week and yet I still manage to call Mr. R by his name. Heck, I was talking to a co-worker earlier this week and called Mr. R, by his caseworkers name. Jessica, my co-worker was so confused. 

2) I never understood how frustrating it is for parents that boys leave pee on the toilet until now. If you follow this and you have any suggestions, send HELP! 

3) Having to figure out consequences for actions. Don't ask me why, but somewhere along the way I think my brain just assumed when you became a parent you just knew...(I know, I know...I'm a dork)

4) Going along with Number 3, How did you as parents come up with Rules...it's not that I don't have them, I'm still working on it it and coming up with ones that fit my house and the kids in it....which then leads back to fair consequences for the actions that go against the rules.

5) How much, a child can melt you heart just by looking at you. Actually, I've always known this, I've always had a soft spot for kids, I just didn't realize how much until Mr. R, looks up to me with a smile of content and knowing that he's safe. 

6) How much your heart breaks when you hear about the trauma that a child has gone through, knowing there is absolutely nothing you can do but love them. 

7) Chores (how to fairly divide up things) and how much a mess 1 child can make. 

    - As a side note to #7, Mr. R has been here almost 3 weeks and we have started to figure out chores . Right now he has trash and his room. Although to be fair, he will do anything I ask for the most part.

8) How tired you are at the end of the day as an adult. And lastly which goes with this, how much I miss "Adult Time." I think part of it has to do with I work with Kids all day and then come home to just him, and I don't really spend a whole lot of time doing adult time. I miss it. 


Life is good and I am so glad I decided take this journey. There are many things I didn't understand before, and that truthfully, I still don't fully understand, and how much more I'm sure along the way I will learn. I fully acknowledge that the more I learn the more I realize I didn't know. 

To the parents and adults from my childhood  who follow my blog. Thank you for everything you did for us kids when we were children. Thank you for the rules, the consequences, the life lessons, the hugs, and the words of wisdom. Thank you for caring and making sure we knew you cared. I've always known that adults make a difference, but looking back on the things I thought I knew and what I'm realizing I didn't; I'm realizing just how much a difference you all made to my life. 


Today we made brunch together...I made the Waffles he made Bacon (bacon got eaten before photo) 

                     
We decided to play some soccer this evening for a while in the parking lot of my complex. 



Comments